Register for a free trial
Offshore Support Journal

Ballast Water Treatment Technology

Marine Propulsion Awards 2018 now open for entries

Fri 05 Jan 2018

Marine Propulsion Awards 2018 now open for entries
Last year’s Marine Propulsion Award winners. Enter now to lift the 2018 trophies

Entries for this year’s Marine Propulsion Awards are now open. These annual accolades will be presented during a gala dinner on the first evening of Riviera Maritime Media’s Sulphur Cap 2020 conference and exhibition, which will take place on 17-18 April in Amsterdam.

These awards recognise innovations made during 2017 across a range of marine engineering sectors and are open to companies and individuals around the world. Entries are made via a simple online entry form and they will be reviewed by a panel of independent experts, co-ordinated by Riviera Maritime Media’s executive editor, Paul Gunton.

They will make a shortlist of three entries for each category and these will be offered for a public online vote whose result will be combined with the judges’ views to select the winners.

Mr Gunton explained that some of this year’s categories are different from last year’s to reflect the industry’s current emphasis on efficiency and to broaden their scope. With a closing date for nominations of 12 February, Mr Gunton urged BWTT readers to nominate their significant innovations as soon as possible.



This year’s categories are listed below, in alphabetical order; more details of the judging criteria can be found on the awards website. In addition to these, the staff of Riviera Maritime Media will make an Industry Leader award to an individual who is an example of leadership and inspiration in the field of marine engineering.

• Efficiency Improvement award
The winning entry will demonstrate an innovative and original initiative in any area of marine technology that resulted in a step-change in ship efficiency.

• Emissions Reduction award
The winning entry will be an initiative, product, system or process that demonstrates actual or potential reductions in emissions from shipping as a result of its implementation.

• Graduate Research award
The winner will be a graduate researcher who has completed research relevant to onboard marine engineering that improves ship efficiency, machinery performance and reliability, safety or environmental impact.

Innovation award
The winning entry will demonstrate an original and novel development relevant to any aspect of marine technology that shows an imaginative and effective solution to an engineering requirement.

Marine Intelligence award
The winning entry will show how data, communications or other IT technology has significantly improved a ship’s or fleet’s efficiency, economy or operation.

Ship of the Year award
The winning ship will be a new or substantially upgraded vessel that incorporates innovative technical developments that identify it as a landmark vessel.

Technical Support award
The winning entry will be a technical support service that has made possible, or made more effective, a client’s own technical or operational ambitions.

Recent whitepapers

Related articles





Knowledge bank

View all